

The Regional Municipality of Durham

Corporate Services Department Legislative Services

605 Rossland Rd. E. Level 1 PO Box 623 Whitby, ON L1N 6A3 Canada

905-668-7711 1-800-372-1102 Fax: 905-668-9963

durham.ca

Don Beaton, BCom, M.P.A. Commissioner of Corporate Services March 24, 2021

Honourable Premier Doug Ford Premier's Office Room 281 Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Dear Premier Ford:

RE: Memorandum from Ralph Walton, Regional Clerk/Director of Legislative Services dated February 25, 2021, re: Resolution adopted by Regional Council at its meeting held on February 24, 2021, Our File: O11

Council of the Region of Durham, at its meeting held on March 24, 2021, adopted the following resolution of the Works Committee:

"A) That the memorandum from Ralph Walton, Regional Clerk/Director of Legislative Services dated February 25, 2021, re: Resolution adopted by Regional Council at its meeting held on February 24, 2021 be received for information;

And further that:

B) That notwithstanding the current Durham Region Council position supporting the Lake Simcoe option, the Council of the Regional Municipality of Durham requests that if the Province orders the Lake Ontario solution in lieu of the Lake Simcoe option, then the Minister of the Environment Conservation and Parks (MECP) Order that ALL environmental benefits and conditions proposed for the UYSS related to the Lake Simcoe option, including best management practices and science for the Great Lakes and consultations with First Nations, be required at the Duffin Water Pollution Control Plant (DWPCP) and that the Province lead the research and study to advance best practices related to nutrient management for the Great Lakes; and

That taxpayers and users in Durham must be protected from any financial implications of this decision including the costs of the accelerated expansion of the Duffin Creek WPCP due to the addition of this unplanned capacity requirement."

Ralph Walton

Ralph Walton, Regional Clerk/Director of Legislative Services

RW/sg

Honourable J. Yurek, Minister, Environment, Conservation and Parks C: Peter Bethlenfalvy, MPP, Pickering-Uxbridge Lorne Coe, MPP, Whitby Jennifer French, MPP, Oshawa Lindsay Park, MPP, Durham Rod Phillips, MPP, Ajax Caroline Mulroney, MPP, York-Simcoe Stephen Lecce, MPP, King-Vaughan Christine Elliot, MPP, Newmarket-Aurora Paul Calandra, MPP, Markham-Stouffville Michael Parsa, MPP, Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill Billy Pang, MPP, Markham-Unionville Logan Kanapathi, MPP, Markham-Thornhill Michael Tibollo, MPP, Vaughan-Woodbridge Gila Martow, MPP, Thornhill Daisy Wai, MPP, Richmond Hill Andrea Horwath, MPP – New Democratic Party, Leader of the Official Opposition Steven Del Duca, MPP – Ontario Liberal Party, Leader Mike Schreiner, MPP – Ontario Green Party, Leader N. Cooper, Clerk, Town of Ajax B. Jamieson, Clerk, Township of Brock J. Gallagher, Clerk, Municipality of Clarington M. Medeiros, Clerk, City of Oshawa S. Cassel, Clerk, City of Pickering L. Fleury, Acting Clerk, Township of Scugog D. Leroux, Clerk, Township of Uxbridge C. Harris, Clerk, Town of Whitby E. Baxter-Trahair, Chief Administrative Officer S. Siopis, Commissioner of Works